Advertise - Print Edition

Brandeis University's Community Newspaper — Waltham, Mass.

Selig, Norton post top three finishes at UAAs

Published: November 5, 2010
Section: Sports

For Brandeis’ cross country teams, Halloween weekend meant not costumes and candy but a trip to New York City and a race in the Bronx’s Van Cortlandt Park. The Judges put forward a respectable showing at the New York University-hosted meet; the men’s team placed fourth and the women’s sixth in the University Athletic Association (UAA) Championship race.

Last year’s event was hosted by Case Western University. At Cleveland, Ohio’s Squire Valleevue Farm, the men’s team finished fifth and the women’s fourth.

Seniors Grayce Selig and Paul Norton led the charge for the Judges, finishing second and third overall in their respective races. Selig’s final time of 21:30.97 put her 14 seconds out of first place and seven seconds ahead of NYU’s Maeve Evans, who earned third place. Last season Selig finished 20th overall, completing the six-kilometer (6K) event in 24:30.83. The 2010 competition was Selig’s first in a 6K this year with her finish being the highest by a Brandeis woman since Mariko Tansey Holbrook ’03 won the event her junior year.

Norton, last year’s runner up, ran the men’s eight-kilometer (8K) in 25:42.01, crossing the line less than two seconds behind the winner and second place finisher, Washington University’s Michael Burnstein and NYU’s Michael Zitek.

Both Selig and Norton received first-team All-UAA accolades for their efforts. Though Selig has twice this season been named UAA Women’s Cross Country Athlete of the Week, it is her first time going All-UAA. Norton earned All-UAA honors for the second consecutive year.

Other competitors on the women’s side included Marie Lemay ’11, the 23rd to cross the line and Kate Warwick ’12 and Erin Bisceglia ’12, who finished back-to-back at 37th and 38th place. Hannah Lindholm ’11, Victoria Sanford ’14 and Amelia Lundkvist ’14 came in 40th, 42nd and 43rd, respectively.

Senior Kerwin Vega finished 15th and Chris Brown ’12 22nd overall in the men’s competition. Ed Colvin ’14, who clocked in at 24th place with a time of 26:23.20, was later named UAA Rookie of the Year. Dan Anastos ’11 (28th), Devon Holgate ’11 (39th) and Mik Kern ’13 (50th) also ran for the Judges. Both teams will next compete in the NCAA Regional Championships on Nov. 13.